What is 6:00 am BRT in IST?

6:00 am BRT is 2:00 pm IST

Here, we have calculated the local time in India Standard Time based on the given time of 6:00 am in Brasília Time. Our precise algorithm takes into account various factors, such as daylight saving time and the specific offset between the two time zones, to provide you with an accurate conversion.

How to calculate 6:00 am BRT to IST yourself:

  1. Identify the time zones: Determine the time zones for both the starting location (BRT) and the destination location (IST).
  2. Calculate the offset: Find the difference in hours (and sometimes minutes) between the two time zones. This is usually expressed as a positive or negative offset from Coordinated Universal Time (UTC). In this case, the offset between Brasília Time and India Standard Time is 8 hours.
  3. Consider daylight saving time: Check if either the starting or destination time zone is currently observing daylight saving time. If so, make sure to adjust your calculation by adding or subtracting one hour as needed.
  4. Apply the offset: Add or subtract the calculated offset to the given time in the starting time zone (6:00 am). Be mindful of any potential "wrap-around" when crossing the International Date Line or switching between AM and PM.

By following these steps, you can convert the time between Brasília Time and India Standard Time accurately. However, if you prefer a hassle-free way to find the time in another part of the world, feel free to use our Time Zone Conversion Calculator on the directory page.

Brasília Time

Brasília Time (BRT) is the time zone observed in parts of Brazil, including cities like São Paulo and Rio de Janeiro. It is 3 hours behind UTC during standard time and 2 hours behind during daylight saving time.


  • São Paulo
  • Rio de Janeiro
  • Belo Horizonte
  • Brasília

India Standard Time

India Standard Time (IST) is the time zone observed throughout India, including cities like New Delhi and Mumbai. It is 5 hours and 30 minutes ahead of UTC and does not observe daylight saving time.


  • New Delhi
  • Mumbai
  • Kolkata
  • Bangalore
  • Chennai