What is 5:02 pm AKST in IST?

5:02 pm AKST is 5:02 am IST

Here, we have calculated the local time in India Standard Time based on the given time of 5:02 pm in Alaska Standard Time. Our precise algorithm takes into account various factors, such as daylight saving time and the specific offset between the two time zones, to provide you with an accurate conversion.

How to calculate 5:02 pm AKST to IST yourself:

  1. Identify the time zones: Determine the time zones for both the starting location (AKST) and the destination location (IST).
  2. Calculate the offset: Find the difference in hours (and sometimes minutes) between the two time zones. This is usually expressed as a positive or negative offset from Coordinated Universal Time (UTC). In this case, the offset between Alaska Standard Time and India Standard Time is 12 hours.
  3. Consider daylight saving time: Check if either the starting or destination time zone is currently observing daylight saving time. If so, make sure to adjust your calculation by adding or subtracting one hour as needed.
  4. Apply the offset: Add or subtract the calculated offset to the given time in the starting time zone (5:02 pm). Be mindful of any potential "wrap-around" when crossing the International Date Line or switching between AM and PM.

By following these steps, you can convert the time between Alaska Standard Time and India Standard Time accurately. However, if you prefer a hassle-free way to find the time in another part of the world, feel free to use our Time Zone Conversion Calculator on the directory page.

Alaska Standard Time

Alaska Standard Time (AKST) is the time zone used in Alaska, including cities like Anchorage and Fairbanks. It is 9 hours behind UTC during standard time and 8 hours behind during daylight saving time.


  • Anchorage
  • Fairbanks
  • Juneau
  • Nome

India Standard Time

India Standard Time (IST) is the time zone observed throughout India, including cities like New Delhi and Mumbai. It is 5 hours and 30 minutes ahead of UTC and does not observe daylight saving time.


  • New Delhi
  • Mumbai
  • Kolkata
  • Bangalore
  • Chennai