Time Zone Converter


Current EST Time =

Current Central Time =

Current Mountain Time =

Current Pacific Time =

Converting time

To convert time by time zone, each conversion follows the same equation:
Time zone X - UTC offset for Zone X = Time zone Y - UTC offset for Zone Y.
This means time zone X also = Time zone Y - UTC offset for Zone Y + UTC offset for Zone X.

This all sounds very simple, but the details get muddy as other factors get involved as following:

  • Nautical time zones - Hard to switch times as needed. Most ships change timezones at night, not when they actually cross into different areas
  • Zone Boundaires too far west - used to allow more efficient use of sunlight for Daylight savings time (DST)
  • Computer Systems - Different webservers use different databases

Time Zones of the World

There are 24 different time zones in the world. This was originally introduced by the Italian mathematician, Quirico Filopanti in his book Miranda! Published in 1858. He originally called time zones “longitudinal days” but this idea didn’t take off until long after his death.

It wasn’t until 1876 that Sir Sandford Flemming, a Scottish-born Canadian, proposed a worldwide system of time zones. His system wasn’t completely adopted but by 1900, the entire global adopted a standard time zone, but it still wasn’t effective since most time zones didn’t have a unifying systems.

Enter, GMT or UTC or Coordinated Universal Time.

Coordinated Universal Time or UTC is the standard to regulate time.

This allows countries to adopt a standard off-set, shifting time in coordination with one another.

World Clock Converter Chart

Time zone UTC Difference 12-hour-time 24-hour-time Military Time
EST5EDT -04:00
CST6CDT -05:00
MST7MDT -06:00
PST8PDT -07:00
Europe/London +01:00
America/New_York -04:00
Asia/Istanbul +03:00
Asia/Singapore +08:00
Asia/Tokyo +09:00
Australia/Sydney +10:00

Time Zones in America

Time zone State City 12-hour-time 24-hour-time Military Time
America/New_York New York Manhattan
America/Indiana/Indianapolis Indiana Indianapolis
America/North_Dakota/New_Salem North_Dakota New_Salem
America/Kentucky/Louisville Kentucky Louisville
America/Argentina/Buenos_Aires Argentina Buenos_Aires
America/Argentina/ComodRivadavia Argentina ComodRivadavia

Time Zones in Europe

Time zone State City 12-hour-time 24-hour-time Military Time
Europe/London Britain London
Europe/Moscow Russia Moscow
Europe/Amsterdam Netherlands Amsterdam
Europe/Paris France Paris
Europe/Athens Greece Athens
Europe/Kiev Ukraine Kiev
Europe/Dublin Ireland Dublin
Europe/Kaliningrad Russia Kaliningrad

UTC Time Zone Offsets

UTC offset Locations that do not use DST2 Locations that do not use DST3 Locations that use DST2 Locations that use DST3 Locations that use DST4
UTC−12:00 Baker Island Howland Island None None None
UTC−11:00 American Samoa Jarvis Island Kingman Reef Midway Atoll Niue Palmyra Atoll None None None
UTC−10:00 Cook Islands French Polynesia (most) Johnston Atoll United States: Hawaii United States: Andreanof Islands, Islands of Four Mountains, Near Islands, Rat Islands (Aleutian Islands, Alaska) United States: Andreanof Islands, Islands of Four Mountains, Near Islands, Rat Islands (Aleutian Islands, Alaska) United States: Andreanof Islands, Islands of Four Mountains, Near Islands, Rat Islands (Aleutian Islands, Alaska)
UTC−09:30 French Polynesia: Marquesas Islands French Polynesia: Marquesas Islands None None None
UTC−09:00 French Polynesia: Gambier Islands French Polynesia: Gambier Islands United States: Alaska (most) United States: Alaska (most) United States: Alaska (most)
UTC−08:00 Clipperton Island Pitcairn Islands Clipperton Island Pitcairn Islands Canada: British Columbia (most) Mexico: Baja California United States: California, Idaho (north), Nevada (most), Oregon (most), Washington United States: California, Idaho (north), Nevada (most), Oregon (most), Washington
UTC−07:00 Canada: British Columbia (northeast), Yukon Mexico: Sonora United States: Arizona (most) Canada: British Columbia (northeast), Yukon Mexico: Sonora United States: Arizona (most) Canada: Alberta, British Columbia (southeast), Northwest Territories, Nunavut (west) Mexico: Baja California Sur, Chihuahua, Nayarit (most), Sinaloa United States: Colorado, Idaho (most), Montana, New Mexico, Utah, Wyoming Canada: Alberta, British Columbia (southeast), Northwest Territories, Nunavut (west) Mexico: Baja California Sur, Chihuahua, Nayarit (most), Sinaloa United States: Colorado, Idaho (most), Montana, New Mexico, Utah, Wyoming Canada: Alberta, British Columbia (southeast), Northwest Territories, Nunavut (west) Mexico: Baja California Sur, Chihuahua, Nayarit (most), Sinaloa United States: Colorado, Idaho (most), Montana, New Mexico, Utah, Wyoming
UTC−06:00 Belize Canada: Saskatchewan (most) Costa Rica Ecuador: Galápagos El Salvador Guatemala Honduras Nicaragua Canada: Manitoba, Nunavut (central), Ontario (west) Chile: Easter Island Mexico (most) United States: Alabama, Arkansas, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas (most), Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska (most), North Dakota (most), Oklahoma, South Dakota (most), Tennessee (most), Texas (most), Wisconsin United States: Alabama, Arkansas, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas (most), Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska (most), North Dakota (most), Oklahoma, South Dakota (most), Tennessee (most), Texas (most), Wisconsin
UTC−05:00 Brazil: Acre Canada: Atikokan, Mishkeegogamang, Southampton Island Cayman Islands Colombia Ecuador (most) Jamaica Mexico: Quintana Roo Navassa Island Panama Peru Bahamas Canada: Nunavut (east), Ontario (most), Quebec (most) Cuba Haiti Turks and Caicos Islands United States: Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida (most), Georgia, Indiana (most), Kentucky (most), Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan (most), New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia United States: Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida (most), Georgia, Indiana (most), Kentucky (most), Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan (most), New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia
UTC−04:00 Anguilla Antigua and Barbuda Aruba Barbados Bolivia Brazil: Amazonas (most), Mato Grosso, Mato Grosso do Sul, Rondônia, Roraima British Virgin Islands Canada: Quebec (east) Caribbean Netherlands Curaçao Dominica Dominican Republic Grenada Guadeloupe Guyana Martinique Montserrat Puerto Rico Saint Barthélemy Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Martin Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Sint Maarten Trinidad and Tobago U.S. Virgin Islands Venezuela Bermuda Canada: Labrador (most), New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island Chile (most) Greenland: Thule Air Base Paraguay Bermuda Canada: Labrador (most), New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island Chile (most) Greenland: Thule Air Base Paraguay Bermuda Canada: Labrador (most), New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island Chile (most) Greenland: Thule Air Base Paraguay
UTC−03:30 None None Canada: Newfoundland, Labrador (southeast) Canada: Newfoundland, Labrador (southeast) Canada: Newfoundland, Labrador (southeast)
UTC−03:00 Argentina Brazil (most) Chile: Magallanes Falkland Islands French Guiana Suriname Uruguay Greenland (most) Saint Pierre and Miquelon Greenland (most) Saint Pierre and Miquelon Greenland (most) Saint Pierre and Miquelon
UTC−02:00 Brazil: Fernando de Noronha South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands Brazil: Fernando de Noronha South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands None None None
UTC−01:00 Cape Verde Cape Verde Greenland: Ittoqqortoormiit Portugal: Azores Greenland: Ittoqqortoormiit Portugal: Azores Greenland: Ittoqqortoormiit Portugal: Azores
UTC±00:00 Burkina Faso Gambia Ghana Greenland: Danmarkshavn Guinea Guinea-Bissau Iceland Ivory Coast Liberia Mali Mauritania Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha Senegal Sierra Leone São Tomé and Príncipe Togo Faroe Islands Guernsey Ireland Isle of Man Jersey Portugal (most) Spain: Canary Islands United Kingdom Faroe Islands Guernsey Ireland Isle of Man Jersey Portugal (most) Spain: Canary Islands United Kingdom Faroe Islands Guernsey Ireland Isle of Man Jersey Portugal (most) Spain: Canary Islands United Kingdom
UTC+01:00 Algeria Angola Benin Cameroon Central African Republic Chad Congo Democratic Republic of the Congo: Équateur, Kinshasa, Kongo Central, Kwango, Kwilu, Mai-Ndombe, Mongala, Nord-Ubangi, Sud-Ubangi, Tshuapa Equatorial Guinea Gabon Morocco Niger Nigeria Tunisia Western Sahara Albania Andorra Austria Belgium Bosnia and Herzegovina Croatia Czech Republic Denmark France (metropolitan) Germany Gibraltar Hungary Italy Kosovo Liechtenstein Luxembourg Malta Monaco Montenegro Netherlands (European) North Macedonia Norway Poland San Marino Serbia Slovakia Slovenia Spain (most) Sweden Switzerland Vatican City
UTC+02:00 Botswana Burundi Democratic Republic of the Congo (most) Egypt Eswatini Lesotho Libya Malawi Mozambique Namibia Russia: Kaliningrad Rwanda South Africa (most) South Sudan Sudan Zambia Zimbabwe Akrotiri and Dhekelia Bulgaria Cyprus Estonia Finland Greece Israel Jordan Latvia Lebanon Lithuania Moldova Northern Cyprus Palestine Romania Transnistria Syria Ukraine (most)
UTC+03:00 Abkhazia Bahrain Belarus Comoros Djibouti Eritrea Ethiopia French Southern and Antarctic Lands: Scattered Islands Iraq Kenya Kuwait Madagascar Mayotte Qatar Russia (most of European part) Saudi Arabia Somalia Somaliland South Africa: Prince Edward Islands South Ossetia Tanzania Turkey Uganda Ukraine: occupied territories Yemen None None None
UTC+03:30 None None Iran Iran Iran
UTC+04:00 Armenia Azerbaijan French Southern and Antarctic Lands: Crozet Islands Georgia Mauritius Oman Russia: Astrakhan, Samara, Saratov, Udmurtia, Ulyanovsk Réunion Seychelles United Arab Emirates None None None
UTC+04:30 Afghanistan Afghanistan None None None
UTC+05:00 French Southern and Antarctic Lands: Kerguelen Islands, Saint Paul Island, Amsterdam Island Heard Island and McDonald Islands Kazakhstan: Aktobe, Atyrau, Baikonur, Kyzylorda, Mangystau, West Kazakhstan Maldives Pakistan Russia: Bashkortostan, Chelyabinsk, Khanty-Mansi, Kurgan, Orenburg, Perm, Sverdlovsk, Tyumen, Yamalia Tajikistan Turkmenistan Uzbekistan None None None
UTC+05:30 India Sri Lanka India Sri Lanka None None None
UTC+05:45 Nepal Nepal None None None
UTC+06:00 Bangladesh Bhutan British Indian Ocean Territory Kazakhstan (most) Kyrgyzstan Russia: Omsk None None None
UTC+06:30 Cocos Islands Myanmar Cocos Islands Myanmar None None None
UTC+07:00 Cambodia Christmas Island Indonesia: Sumatra, Java, West Kalimantan, Central Kalimantan Laos Mongolia: Bayan-Ölgii, Khovd, Uvs Russia: Altai Krai, Altai Republic, Kemerovo, Khakassia, Krasnoyarsk, Novosibirsk, Tomsk, Tuva Thailand Vietnam None None None
UTC+08:00 Australia: Western Australia (most) Brunei China Hong Kong Indonesia: South Kalimantan, East Kalimantan, North Kalimantan, Sulawesi, Bali, West Nusa Tenggara, East Nusa Tenggara Macau Malaysia Mongolia (most) Philippines Russia: Buryatia, Irkutsk Singapore Taiwan None None None
UTC+08:45 Australia: Eucla Australia: Eucla None None None
UTC+09:00 East Timor Indonesia: Maluku, North Maluku, Papua, West Papua Japan North Korea Palau Russia: Amur, Sakha (most), Zabaykalsky South Korea None None None
UTC+09:30 Australia: Northern Territory Australia: Northern Territory Australia: South Australia Australia: South Australia Australia: South Australia
UTC+10:00 Australia: Queensland Guam Micronesia: Chuuk, Yap Northern Mariana Islands Papua New Guinea (most) Russia: Jewish, Khabarovsk, Primorsky, Sakha (central-east) Australia: Australian Capital Territory, Jervis Bay Territory, New South Wales (most), Tasmania, Victoria Australia: Australian Capital Territory, Jervis Bay Territory, New South Wales (most), Tasmania, Victoria Australia: Australian Capital Territory, Jervis Bay Territory, New South Wales (most), Tasmania, Victoria
UTC+10:30 None None Australia: Lord Howe Island Australia: Lord Howe Island Australia: Lord Howe Island
UTC+11:00 Micronesia: Kosrae, Pohnpei New Caledonia Papua New Guinea: Bougainville Russia: Magadan, Sakha (east), Sakhalin Solomon Islands Vanuatu Norfolk Island Norfolk Island Norfolk Island
UTC+12:00 Fiji Kiribati: Gilbert Islands Marshall Islands Nauru Russia: Chukotka, Kamchatka Tuvalu Wake Island Wallis and Futuna New Zealand (most) New Zealand (most) New Zealand (most)
UTC+12:45 None None New Zealand: Chatham Islands New Zealand: Chatham Islands New Zealand: Chatham Islands
UTC+13:00 Kiribati: Phoenix Islands Samoa Tokelau Tonga None None None
UTC+14:00 Kiribati: Line Islands Kiribati: Line Islands None None None

Date & Time Zone Differences

Difference between Central and Eastern Time

Central time is one hour behind Eastern Time. To convert Central time to Eastern Time, you would have to add 1 hour from CT. For example, if it’s 8:00 AM Central Time, it’s 9:00 AM Eastern Time. Here are the basic conversions for a 12-hour clock:

  • 1:00 CT = 2:00 EST
  • 2:00 CT = 3:00 EST
  • 3:00 CT = 4:00 EST
  • 4:00 CT = 5:00 EST
  • 5:00 CT = 6:00 EST
  • 6:00 CT = 7:00 EST
  • 7:00 CT = 8:00 EST
  • 8:00 CT = 9:00 EST
  • 9:00 CT = 10:00 EST
  • 10:00 CT = 11:00 EST
  • 11:00 CT = 12:00 EST
  • 12:00 CT = 1:00 EST

Difference between Eastern and Pacific Time

Eastern time is three hours ahead of pacific time. This means you would subtract 3 hours from Eastern Time in order to know Pacific time. For example: To convert 5:00PM EST to PT, subtract 3 hours. 5:00PM EST = 2:00PM PT. Here are the 12 hour conversions for EST to PT:

  • 1:00 EST = 10:00 PT
  • 2:00 EST = 11:00 PT
  • 3:00 EST = 12:00 PT
  • 4:00 EST = 1:00 PT
  • 5:00 EST = 2:00 PT
  • 6:00 EST = 3:00 PT
  • 7:00 EST = 4:00 PT
  • 8:00 EST = 5:00 PT
  • 9:00 EST = 6:00 PT
  • 10:00 EST = 7:00 PT
  • 11:00 EST = 8:00 PT
  • 12:00 EST = 9:00 PT

Difference between Central and Mountain Time

Central time is 1 hour ahead of Mountain Time. This means to convert Central Time to Mountain Time, you will have to subtract 1 hour. For example, if it’s 12:00 CT. Subtract 1 hour, and it’s 11:00 MT. Here are the 12-hour conversions for CT to MT Time zones:

  • 1:00 CT = 12:00 MT
  • 2:00 CT = 1:00 MT
  • 3:00 CT = 2:00 MT
  • 4:00 CT = 3:00 MT
  • 5:00 CT = 4:00 MT
  • 6:00 CT = 5:00 MT
  • 7:00 CT = 6:00 MT
  • 8:00 CT = 7:00 MT
  • 9:00 CT = 8:00 MT
  • 10:00 CT = 9:00 MT
  • 11:00 CT = 10:00 MT
  • 12:00 CT = 11:00 MT

Difference between GMT and UTC

Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) and Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) are exactly the same time; however, GMT is a time zone and UTC is a time standard. These are used in slightly different scenarios. UTC is a standard, meaning it’s used as the world clock to set the standard for the rest of the time throughout the globe. GMT is the official timezone of which all the others are based. This runs through many countries and is located in Europe

Current times in major cities around the world

City Time zone Country 12-hour-time 24-hour-time Military Time
London Europe/London Britain
Manhattan America/New_York New York
Moscow Europe/Moscow Russia
Buenos_Aires America/Argentina/Buenos_Aires Argentina
Amsterdam Europe/Amsterdam Netherlands
Paris Europe/Paris France
Nairobi Africa/Nairobi Kenya
Cairo Africa/Cairo Egypt
Sydney Australia/Sydney Australia
South_Pole Antarctica/South_Pole Antarctica
Toronto America/Toronto Canada
Dubai Asia/Dubai UAE
Kabul Asia/Kabul Afghanistan

Timezones of America

What States are in the Eastern Time Zone?

  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Georgia
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • Ohio
  • Pennsylvania
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia

What States are in the Central Time Zone?

  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Illinois
  • Iowa
  • Louisiana
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Oklahoma
  • Wisconsin

What states are in the Mountain Time Zone?

  • Colorado
  • Montana
  • New Mexico
  • Utah
  • Wyoming
  • Arizona

What states are in the Pacific Time Zone?

  • California
  • Washington

Fun Facts about US Time Zones:

  • Southern Idaho and parts of Oregon are split between the Mountain Time Zone and the Pacific Time Zone.
  • Kansas, Western Nebraska, Sourth West North Dakota, Western South Dakota, and parts of Texas are split between the Mountain Time Zone and the Central Time Zone.
  • Florida panhandle, parts of Indiana, western Kentucky, parts of Michigan, and west Tennessee are split between Central and Eastern Time Zones.